Did you know that….

The Sun‘s distance from the Earth is about 400 times the Moon‘s distance, and the Sun’s diameter  is about 400 times the Moon’s diameter. Because these ratios are approximately the same, the Sun and the Moon as seen from Earth appear to be approximately the same size: about 0.5 degree of arc in angular measure.

I didn’t know, but this relationship is what actually allows us to witness total solar eclipses. I discovered it watching a documentary on Discovery Channel (yes I’m a total documentary addict, I just love knowing things) and it totally blew my mind.

Like, isn’t it a miracle that they fit perfectly together? I’m not a huge fan of the “creation of God” theory, but what are the chances that the Big Bang created this in a complete random way? Food for thoughts.
If the moon or the sun were closer or farther away, we couldn’t be hit by the shadow of the eclipse in the same way, or maybe the moon wouldn’t completely cover it (except for the solar ring, as it is now), or it would appear to be larger than the sun, covering the ring. Instead, they are perfectly matched and allow us to witness one of the most peculiar shows: I’ve witnessed only one total eclipse in my life, more or less 10 years ago and it was totally fascinating. The thing that impressed me the most was the fact that, as the sky grew darker and darker, the birds and the other animals would stop singing and complete silence would crawl above everything. It was like if my garden as I knew it before was slowly fading away and being replaced by a darker, scarier place. Dark blue sky above, grey grass under my feet, complete silence around except for the sound of my footsteps and a big, flaming ring in the sky watching down on me. I sort of totally understand were Tolkien took inspiration when he came up with the idea of the Eye of Sauron:

The Eye was rimmed with fire, but was itself glazed, yellow as a cat’s, watchful and intent, and the black slit of its pupil opened on a pit, a window into nothing.

But, hey I have a fascination for odd and scary things so I was totally hypnotized by the magic of the eclipse… I would gladly become one of those “eclipse chasers” and travel all around the world following the next show; a bit like a groupie let’s say but without the drug parties.